Homemade cards

Watercolor painted card with a little scrap fabric glued on as the orange tie

Watercolor painted card with a little scrap fabric glued on as the orange tie

I’ve always liked making homemade cards. I’m guessing most kids probably make their own cards. My standard birthday cards included balloons and the age of the recipient on construction paper. Sometimes I still do draw balloons– but I’ve also ventured out.

Until recently I would just use whatever paper and envelopes I had around– maybe card stock or printer paper or blank notecards. But my new favorite are blank notecards made from watercolor paper. The solidness of the cards makes them seem a little nicer. As the name implies you could do a little watercolor or drawing on the front. Or just glue some pretty patterned paper on it. I got a stack of 50 colored sheets of paper at Michaels for a dollar or two.

IMG_0711

Recently I cut this paper into a smaller square that would fit on the card, but I’ve also done stripes or triangles. It’s really simple and fast. I think it’s fun to be a little creative making cards, but it’s also economical. I got 50 cards for just under $25 on Amazon, so at 50 cents a piece you can’t beat the price. (I see they’re now selling for $40 from this seller on Amazon. However, the discount online art store Dick Blick has 100 cards for $25.58!)

IMG_0713

 

Leave a Reply

